he Phi Kappa Sigma | Scholarships


phi kappa sigma scholarship awards


We all know that college is expensive, and the organization wants to help. The organizations scholarship program was established to help Phi Kaps pursue their education.

Whether you’re an engineering student or a theater major, pre-med or pre-law, if you need financial help to complete your degree, the annual scholarship program offers the support many brothers need. These scholarships are made possible by our generous alumni donors.


Need-based scholarships are awarded on the basis of both scholastic achievement and financial need. Financial need is not considered for merit-based scholarships, but instead looks at an applicant’s chapter, campus, community involvement, and scholastic achievement. Candidates for scholarships must be undergraduates who have completed and submitted the scholarship application and supplemental materials. The annual scholarship program allows members to apply for either need-based, merit-based or both.


Applicants must:

  • be enrolled in an undergraduate field of study.
  • be working towards their first bachelor degree.
  • a full-time student.
  • have their initiation fee paid and received by the International Headquarters.
  • be an active member of Phi Kappa Sigma International Fraternity.

Applicants may not:

  • be registered as a graduate student.

Other considerations:

  • There are no restrictions placed on major, academic discipline, or course of study.
  • Previous scholarship awardees are eligible, given that they are still qualified and they continue to meet the above criteria.
  • Applicants may still be eligible to receive a scholarship if transferring to another degree granting institution whether or not there is an active chapter of Phi Kappa Sigma.


The scholarship program window for applications opens February 15th, and closes May 1st

Applicants must:

  • complete the current web-based application process online.
  • have an application that is clear, comprehendible, and complete.
  • have an official transcript of grades sent directly from the Registrar’s Office. (Please be aware most schools take at least two weeks for processing.)

Submissions are required to include:

  • a current resume.
  • a completed and signed Chapter Advisor Approval Form.
  • a concise narrative explaining of qualifications for merit-based scholarships.
  • basic financial information for need-based scholarship applications.

Submissions are encouraged to include:

  • reference letters describing additional information.
  • an electronic copy of the most recent tax return for the applicant and that of the parents.

Applicants are encouraged to seek outside support with proofreading and application review. However, applicants are required to complete the scholarship application process on their own behalf.


Annual scholarship decisions are based largely on a composite of rankings made independently by members of the Mitchell Heritage Society Awards committee. After rankings have been consolidated, the Scholarship Awards Chairman submits the committee’s recommendations to the Board of Trustees of the Mitchell Heritage Society. After approval, the Mitchell Heritage Society President notifies scholarship winners of their selection, usually in late September pending verification of good standing by the Phi Kappa Sigma International Fraternity Headquarters.

The Mitchell Heritage society is funded through the generous support and donations from our alumni.


Alumni can join the preceding alumni who have been recognized with a Mitchell Heritage Society scholarship in their name through gifts of at least:

  • $10,000 in any one year
  • $15,000 over two consecutive years
  • $25,000 over their lifetime

In last paragraph should read “Those interested in establishing a name scholarship program should contact the executive director at . or the president of the Mitchell Heritage Society

phi kappa sigma chapter eternal seal


Bart A. Barre
Alpha Chapter
Pennsylvania 1959

Charles Fazio
Alpha Chi Chapter
Ohio State 1949

Herbert F. Harvey
Alpha Mu Chapter
MIT 1942

Arthur M. Jens
Alpha Epsilon Chapter
Illinois Tech 1904

Ghery D. Pettit
Alpha Lambda Chapter
UC Berkeley 1946

J. Karlem Riess
Mu Chapter
Tulane 1933

Stuart M. Schram
Alpha Xi Chapter
Purdue 1937

Carroll K. Simons
Alpha Epsilon Chapter
Illinois Tech 1932

David C. Spraker
Alpha Theta Chapter
Wisconsin 1951

Roderick M. Williams
Alpha Upsilon Chapter
Washington 1961


Allen M. Cameron Jr.
Beta Gamma Chapter
Denver 1962

Lt. Col. Rick S. Correz
Beta Rho Chapter
UC Riverside 1994

Douglas L. Cox
Alpha Chapter
Pennsylvania 1968

David B. du Pont
Alpha Chapter
Pennsylvania 1967

John L. Finlayson
Zeta Chapter
Franklin & Marshall 1964

Edward L. Flom
Alpha Epsilon Chapter
Illinois Tech 1954

Norman R. Lindskog
Alpha Epsilon Chapter
Illinois Tech 1959

John A. Murray
Beta Gamma Chapter
Denver 1957

Peter J. Nichols
Alpha Upsilon Chapter
Washington 1980

Douglas W. Opicka
Alpha Epsilon Chapter
Illinois Tech 1997

R. Philip Petrowski
Alpha Theta Chapter
Wisconsin 2001

William B. Rozzi
Alpha Xi Chapter
Purdue 1980

Timothy A. Schug
Alpha Epsilon Chapter
Illinois Tech 2007

John W. Templer
Beta Theta Chapter
TCU 1963